Department of Agricultural Mechanization was established from April 1st, 1985 with the support from the former Soviet Union as the fifth department of Institute of Agricultural Technique Chamkar Daung. By 1996 the department was renamed to Faculty of Agricultural Engineering as the institute was promoted and renamed to Royal University of Agriculture. In 2000, the faculty was renamed to Faculty of Agricultural Technology and Management with its new curriculum focused on farm management and agricultural environment to meet the need of labor market at that time. As the economy continues to grow, Cambodia encounters labor shortage in Agriculture since labor force has moved to work in industry and​ service sectors; and there is a need to intensify agricultural production. More machinery is being use in agricultural production. To cope with this change, the faculty was renamed again to Faculty of Agricultural Engineering within composes of four departments:

  1. Department of Soil and Water Engineering
  2. Department of Agricultural Machinery
  3. Department of Agricultural Energy and Environment